Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Terrific Day





Today was a great day! We had three lectures that were very interesting and then went to see JUMP! It is a non-verbal theater performance that features martial arts. These people were amazing, the tumbling and the martial arts were fantastic. It was beautiful and made me laugh very hard as well. WE left the theater and split into two groups. I went to a baseball game at the Olympic stadium. I enjoyed the game. It is similar to Japanese Baseball, there are cheerleaders and it moves very fast. We enjoyed cheering with the fans though we have no idea what the guy leading the cheers was saying! I was on the jumbo tran cheering! On the bus ride home we sang Karaoke. The bus had a video screen, a huge number of songs and disco lights along the aisles. All together a great day.


Not many food pics today, lunch was at a Korean restaruant, I had something that looked like bacon that was cooked on the grill in front of us, we then wrapped it in lettuce and ate it. Do those look like worms I am eating in the picture? WE thought so. REally they are something like fern root that is reconstituted, not really tasty and who really wants to eat something that is "reconstituted", what exactly does that entail? Dinner was at the game, I had chicken nuggets from Burger King! The only two food places I found in the stadium were Burger King and KFC. I could not figure out how to order KFC for one as it looked like a family basket, so I opted for the BK. The french fries were not great, I imagine I will be hungry tonight.


One of our lecture professors discussed the protests a bit. Basically he said that the protestors have lost site of the original reason and are protesting because they dislike the government, which is what we figured. He also said that they are angry that the President did not stand up for his country but was eager to make an agreement with the US that does not benefit the people. Other countries have made their beef agreements such that the do not accept beef that is old, and that is what the problem is. I guess the beef industry slaughters milk cows when they stop producing, by that time they are older and have injested more of the hormones etc. This is the type of beef that is being shipped to Korea and the people don't like it because it could hve been exposed to mad cow by the time it is slaughtered since it is so much older. I wasn't aware of the practice today and never understood what the "30 month old beef" meant. It makes me want to become a vegetarian again.


Tomorrow we head to the DMZ for the day. We are all looking forward to that!

No comments: